Petition objects to gay adoption

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/south_yorkshire/7230515.stm

I found this to be quite interesting. Regardless of the outcome, one thing is for sure. This issue is not one that is going to just go away, and it will not be resolved easily. It all just comes down to gay rights, and those have been debated for years. It will also make an impact in the next election. I also believe that the U.K. and the U.S. will run parallel courses in terms of gay rights. The question is:  which of the two will resolve this issue first? Historically, the European nations have usually acted first, but that could change. I’m not going to lie, I would be very weirded out if I was adopted by a gay couple, but that’s because I have been brought up in a generation where that issue wasn’t as widespread. Often times, the child can’t decide either because he or she is too young to even know what homosexuality is. All I can really say is that we’ll just have to wait and see.

~ by edwardrmeow on February 7, 2008.

One Response to “Petition objects to gay adoption”

  1. I live in Massachusetts and I am legally married to my partner. Massachusetts is the only state where it is legal in the US. It has been legal for about 4 years now and wouldn’t you know it….not much has changed. Once everyone realizes this, it will be a non-issue. In the meantime, there will be fear.
    Jos76
    http://www.jos76.wordpress.com

Leave a comment